June 7, 2025
Jane Powell
The Greenbrier Historical Society is hosting a Home Tour Weekend in the Frankford and Renick area of Greenbrier Valley June 13-14, 2025.
On Friday, June 13, at 6 pm in the auditorium of the New River Community and Technical College, Dr. Sarah McCartney, assistant professor at the College of William Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia, will give a presentation on the history of the Spring Creek area, now known as Frankford and Renick. Refreshments on the lawn of the North House will follow her remarks.
Saturday, June 14, from 10 am – 4 pm is the Home and Historical Tour. Guests will have the opportunity to tour farmland and significant properties in the Frankford and Renick areas.
The village of Frankford was formally laid out in 1801. The Frankford Presbyterian Church’s congregation was organized in 1853, and the church was built in 1855. It remains essentially unchanged today, including the original chandelier. All pews are original, including balcony pews for enslaved people. Original log floor joists and beams can be seen through an opening in the basement.
Reverend Samuel Henry Brown the first pastor ordained and installed in November 1855, is the only grave in the churchyard. He died of typhoid fever in August 1857.
Early settlers came to the area and settled in Frankford, creating a permanent community in 1769. John Stuart came to the area in 1767 to hunt and explore. Realizing the area’s beauty, he bought acreage from Col. Frogg and built a log cabin he named Grumble Thorpe.
In 1820, Stuart built a brick house for his son, Charles Augustus Stuart. Over the years, the house expanded, now 13,000 square feet, and sitting on 2,000 acres of land. The Charles Stuart Hose is now owned by the Long family, who have graciously opened it for Saturday’s tour. The family also invites visitors to drive through the grazing land – home to thousands of Angus cattle – when traveling to the next site.

Buffalo Ridge is a log cabin likely built between 1828 and 1848 by the Beard family. The current owners, Ron and Jean Slonaker, chose the name to pay homage to the buffalo that were once raised on the farm and ridge.

In 1902, it became home to the Spencer family and remained in their family until 1980. Members of the Spencer family, Linda and Brenda Spencer, who lived in the house for 29 years, will be in attendance to share memories and experiences with tour visitors.
The Bright- Wilson house is a large farmhouse that includes the original interior two-story log portion, with thick walls and hand-carved mantles dating back to the last 18th century. The present owner, William Wilson, is a great-grandson of the original owners. There have been many additions to the house, and several barns have been added to the property.

This year, the tour offers two special “view spots.” The first is the Bowen-Simmons House. This drive-by property features a house built by James Bowen in 1822. The house contains 30 windows, each with 18 panes, making 540 panes of glass that had to be acquired in 1822. As the father of thirteen children, including nine girls, Bowen designed a house he thought was safe from suitors and allowed a peaceful home for himself. No plan is flawless; all of his daughters married local fellows.
The second “view spot” is the Renick House or the Cave Farm. The house is set on 400 acres of farmland purchased by William Renick in 1769 when he visited the area with John Stuart. After marrying, he built a home using native stone in 1793, possibly built by the same stone mason as the Old Stone Church.
While in the area, don’t miss visiting local restaurants in Renick or nearby Lewisburg. For more information on the tour and to purchase tickets in advance, visit https://www.greenbrierhistorical.org/. Tickets are $125 for both Friday’s reception and Saturday’s tour. Tickets for Saturday are $35.00 in advance. Day of tickets are $45.00 and can be purchased by cash or check at any site or by credit card at the North House Museum.